HomesportsWho Won The Cricket World Cup 2023

Who Won The Cricket World Cup 2023

Australia win Cricket World Cup 2023 final
Australia won Cricket World Cup 2023 final

Australia bowled out India for 240 runs in the Cricket World Cup 2023 final

Opener Travis Head led Australia to a record sixth 50-over World Cup title as opener Travis Head scored a brilliant century in Sunday’s six-wicket victory over in-form India in the tournament’s final.

Put into bat, India were bowled out for 240 in exactly 50 overs at the Narendra Modi Stadium, fueled by half-centuries from KL Rahul and Virat Kohli.

Australia faced a collapse in their own top order but Head’s 137 off 120 balls left them with seven overs to spare in a match that never reached great heights.

Around 93,000 mainly Indian fans sat mostly on their deathbeds as the home team, who had won 10 consecutive matches to enter the final, suffered their first defeat of the tournament in the all-important summit clash.

Also Read:- Sam Altman Ousted as CEO of ChatGPIT maker OpenAI in a shock move

Earlier, Pat Cummins’ decision to field, mainly to avoid dealing with misty balls at night, had surprised many, but the Australian bowlers, supported by some brilliant fielding, quelled their opposition.

Indian captain Rohit Sharma has been playing tone-setting knocks in his batting pattern throughout the tournament and it was no different in the final despite Shubman Gill’s early loss.

Rohit hit three sixes in his entertaining 47 runs but fell before the end of the powerplay.

Australia Won the Cricket World Cup 2023 final

The opener walks into the field against Glenn Maxwell but misses his shot on the offside. Head ran backwards through cover and took a tumbling catch to get rid of the Indian captain.

Kohli (54) hit Mitchell Starc (3-55) for three consecutive boundaries but India were 81-3 in the 11th over when Cummins caught Shreyas Iyer back out. (Cricket World Cup 2023).

Kohli and Rahul (66) then combined once again, albeit for 16.1 overs without a boundary.

Kohli played his ninth 50-plus innings in 11 innings but soon departed after cutting a delivery from Cummins on his stumps.

Rahul hit just one four in his half century which shows how difficult the pitch was for a shot maker like him.

Australian wicketkeeper Josh Inglis took five catches which is a record in a Cricket World Cup 2023 final.

Australia, when they came in to bat, slumped to 47-3 in seven overs in what looked like a straight ahead chase for them.

Heade, along with Marnus Labuschagne, who scored an unbeaten 58, ended the contest in a 192-run partnership.

Akash USA Today
Akash USA Today
My Name is Akash Yadav and I am a Content Writer, Blogger, Youtuber And Also a SEO Expert. This is my website pls share this for you social media

Most Popular